Pissing you off

Last week my 17 year old daughter was freaked out. I was not freaked out. I was medicated. My husband was not freaked out. He was also medicated. Despite the fact that it was stupid & dangerous our medicated asses drove the 2.5 mile round trip to our local grocery shop to procure A Test. Yes, the sort you’re thinking of. She was 14 days late & in her mind the world was collapsing in on itself. I remember the first time I had that moment. I was 20, not 17, but even still I was terrified. I know where her head was at. We came home, presented the test & instructions, she took the party into our bathroom, we set timers & sat (all of us) on the sofa for 3 minutes. She’s not knocked up. It’s stress & poor habits that add to stress.

We gave her a carton of Ben & Jerry’s and a jar of pickles to celebrate because¬†laughing at yourself is our favourite coping skill around here.

And then it dawned on me… I needed to mail sMother her mother’s day present. Low & behold it fit inside the Clear Blue Easy box. Perfect! I sent it to her broken. When was the last time she gave me anything that wasn’t or the last time she fixed anything for me for that matter? I’m not going to mention the box’s original purpose. I’m going to let her assume. She deserves some psychological warfare. Besides passive-aggressiveness makes obligatory gift giving fun!

Leave a Reply

